The powerful simplicity of physical exercise for vision therapy.

In my hometown, there exists a track and stadium complex that was part of the middle school where I was relentlessly bullied.

Today, the old middle school building has long been torn down; all that remains are the old stadium, the gymnasium, the old auxiliary buildings where I fell in love with computers, the old band hall, and the former cafeteria. It is all now part of an organization called The Boys and Girls Club, with the track open to the public.

My mother and I have recently started walking there a lot. The main reason I walk there is that hardly anyone is there from morning to afternoon, so I have no fear of bumping into anyone or anything while I experiment with undoing almost 35 years of poor motor control habits.

On average, I walk at least 2 miles a day; that’s 8 laps around the track. Sometimes, my mother doesn’t walk with me (which was the case today) or she sits in my car when she has finished walking and waits for me. Earlier today, I found myself walking even more as my vision opened up. My field of vision widened to the widest it has ever been today, and I relished the space and open air. I still have a degree of double vision, but the past couple of months of therapy have diminished it greatly. As I savored the view of the stadium field, I found myself with more energy that I have had in a long time. I walked between 2 1/2 and 2 3/4 miles (I lost count). Had it not been for my hunger, I would have continued for a long time; perhaps even until I acquired full stereopsis.

I have been seeing more and more in stereo lately. I marvel at my growing sterovision. If I am enthralled with it this much at this point, in how much enthrallment will I drown upon acquiring full stereovision?

Physical exercise has a powerful simplicity that supplements vision therapy. It allows simplicity to come into your life and frame it in a new sense.

Leave a Reply

